2021 New Jersey STEM Innovation Fellows

The New Jersey STEM Innovation Fellowship, originally created for New Jersey mathematics teachers and designed to improve STEM teaching and learning in the state, will welcome its second cohort this August.  MƒA developed the new program with feedback and support from several key stakeholders in New Jersey including the Murphy Administration, New Jersey Department of Education, and JerseyCAN, an advocacy group that supports equitable access to STEM education for students. The fellowship is funded with support from the Overdeck Family Foundation, PSEG Foundation, Celgene (now Bristol Myers Squibb), BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), the Maher Charitable Foundation, and ADP.

“The impact of the NJ STEM Innovation Fellowship has been tremendous on mathematics teaching and learning across the state,” said Governor Phil Murphy. “The expansion of the program into science will promote broad and equitable learning opportunities for students, as well as provide important professional development for New Jersey’s outstanding teachers.”

The Program in Teacher Preparation is excited to welcome the following Central District 2021 New Jersey STEM Innovation Fellows:

  • Natasha Boyd, Washington Elementary School, Trenton, NJ, Trenton School District
  • Peter Braynor, Ben Franklin Elementary School, Lawrenceville, NJ, Lawrence Township School District
  • Sarah Ehrenberg, Sharon Elementary School, Robbinsville, NJ, Robbinsville School District
  • Danielle Gargione, Littlebrook School, Princeton, NJ, Princeton Public Schools
  • Jessica Gonzales, Robbins Elementary School, Trenton, NJ, Trenton School District
  • Kritika Iyer, Arthur M. Judd Elementary School, North Brunswick, NJ, North Brunswick School District 
  • Kathleen Mikalsen, Barley Sheaf Elementary School, Flemington, NJ, Flemington-Raritan School District
  • Katie Miller, Lawrenceville Elementary School, Lawrenceville, NJ,  Lawrence Township School District
  • Melissa Phillips, Lord Stirling School, New Brunswick, NJ, New Brunswick School District
  • Trevor Reeder, Orchard Hill Elementary School, Skillman, NJ, Montgomery Township School District 

Official July 28, 2021 Press Release.